I was never a fan of the architectural hood until a few years ago…I have always preferred the sleeker and understated look but in my region, traditional style still is the norm so I have learned to embrace “Wowzer” hoods. So often the ventilation is left to be the last decision by designers and builders alike and often this is an important design element. And always, it is an important functional element in a kitchen!

It is one of my pet peeves when a builder refuses to address the venting in a kitchen and worse, when an architect does not plan well. I do not think you can design a house as an architect without knowing how the kitchen will be ventilated and the path it will take. I.E. the length of duct runs, where the duct terminates, and the size of duct. All these elements are critical to the successful execution of the installation.

But on to the pictures!! Here are a few that are exceptional!  I searched around looking for other identified pix of great hoods but was hard to find..so if you have some other great pictures of hoods you have either designed or seen, please share with me and I will post them here!

Francois and Company

 

 

This is one of my projects. This hood makes an architectural statement in this kitchen yet is relatively understated.

This is one of our projects. This hood makes an architectural statement in this kitchen yet is relatively understated. It is manufactured by Francois and Company.

Another awesome Francois and Co hood. This one is is copper patina and stone.

Another awesome Francois and Co hood. This one is is copper patina and stone.

The Renaissance Man

This gorgeous hood was designed by me and custom fabricated by one of our local artisians, Kevin Marchetti of The Renaissance Man. He is awesome and can build anything you can dream! We wanted cold rolled steel in this kitchen but were afraid to use it due to the close proximity to the coast So Kevin was able to take what I wanted and apply a technique to the metal to make it appear like cold rolled steel but with less problems!

This gorgeous hood was designed by me and custom fabricated by one of our local artisians, Kevin Marchetti of The Renaissance Man. He is awesome and can build anything you can dream! We wanted cold rolled steel in this kitchen but were afraid to use it due to the close proximity to the coast So Kevin was able to take what I wanted and apply a technique to the metal to make it appear like cold rolled steel but with less problems!


Futuro Hoods

This is not a wow hood necessarily but does show how a contemporary hood can work in a more traditional design. It is from Futuro Hoods.

This is not a wow hood necessarily but does show how a contemporary hood can work in a more traditional design. It is from Futuro Hoods.

Handcrafted Metals

A beautiful hood from Handcrafted Metals.

A beautiful hood from Handcrafted Metals.

I have just completed a job with a Handcrafted Metals hood. Not the greatest photo from my blueberry phone but you get the idea! More pix to follow on this great remodel!

Ok, so a bit blurry but hey, it is an awesome kitchen even blurry!

Ok, so a bit blurry but hey, it is an awesome kitchen even blurry!


